Program for Jervis Bay Sailing Club

Jump to Courses and Information
Please click  DRAFT Program  for a copy of the DRAFT program in PDF.
Note: There are likely to be many changes as events at other clubs are confirmed
For Latest Minutes Advantage Handicaps for Pointscore Races in PDF click  HERE

Jervis Bay Sailing Club 2022-2023 Calendar - VERY EARLY DRAFT!


Please provide comments and suggestions so it can be finalised in July/August

Date

Event

Saturday, 4 June 2022

1st Frost Bite Race

Saturday, 2 July 2022

2nd Frostbite; AGM; Presentation

Saturday, 6 August 2022

3rd Frostbite

Saturday, 3 September 2022

Ist Warmup Race

Saturday, 17 September 2022

2nd Warmup Race

Saturday, 24 September 2022

3rd Warmup Race

Saturday, 1 October 2022

October Regatta; Spiral TT1

Sunday, 2 October 2022

October Regatta; Spiral TT1

Saturday, 8 October 2022

Champ/Sprints 1; GOF Heat 1 here

Saturday, 15 October 2022

Points 1

Saturday, 22 October 2022

Champ/Sprints 2

Saturday, 29 October 2022

Points 2

Saturday, 5 November 2022

Champ/Sprints 3

Saturday, 12 November 2022

Points 3; ACT Dinghy Champs

Sunday, 13 November 2022

ACT Dinghy Champs

Saturday, 19 November 2022

NSW State Sailboard Championship

Sunday, 20 November 2022

NSW State Sailboard Championship

Saturday, 26 November 2022

Champ/Sprints 4; Spiral States, Port Kembla

Sunday, 27 November 2022

Spiral States, Port Kembla

Saturday, 3 December 2022

Points 4

Sunday, 4 December 2022

Nowra Marathon, be there!

Saturday, 10 December 2022

Champ/Sprints 5

Saturday, 17 December 2022

Points 5

Saturday, 24 December 2022

No Race Christmas

Saturday, 31 December 2022

No Race New Year Day Crowds

Saturday, 7 January 2023

Champ/Sprints 6

Saturday, 14 January 2023

Points 6

Saturday, 21 January 2023

Champ/Sprints 7

Saturday, 28 January 2023

No Race, Aus Day + Spirals National Champ, Sunshine, Lake Macquarie.

Saturday, 4 February 2023

Points 7

Saturday, 11 February 2023

Champ/Sprints 8

Saturday, 18 February 2023

Points 8

Saturday, 25 February 2023

Champ/Sprints 9

Saturday, 4 March 2023

Points 9

Saturday, 11 March 2023

No Race - Set Aside for Event Hosting

Sunday, 12 March 2023

No Race - Set Aside for Event Hosting

Saturday, 18 March 2023

Champ/Sprints 10

Saturday, 25 March 2023

Points 10

Saturday, 1 April 2023

Champ/Sprints 11

Saturday, 8 April 2023

No Race Easter

Saturday, 15 April 2023

Points 11 

Saturday, 22 April 2023

Champ/Sprints 12

Tuesday, 25 April 2023

ANZAAC Day

Saturday, 29 April 2023

Points 12

Saturday, 6 May 2023

Champ/Sprints 13

Saturday, 13 May 2023

Points 13

Saturday, 20 May 2023

Champ/Sprints 14

Saturday, 27 May 2023

Points 14

Saturday, 3 June 2023

1st Frost Bite Race

Saturday, 1 July 2023

2nd Frostbite; AGM Presentation

Saturday, 5 August 2023

3rd Frostbite

Saturday, 2 September 2023

4th Frostbite

Saturday, 16 September 2023

Ist Warmup Race

Saturday, 23 September 2023

2nd Warmup Race

Saturday, 30 September 2023

October Regatta; Spiral TT1

Sunday, 1 October 2023

October Regatta; Spiral TT1

Monday, 2 October 2023

Labor Day Holiday


------------------------------

Courses and Race Length Information

The Club runs three series throughout the season using various courses (see below):

Common Courses - Olympic Triangle with Port Roundings (Red Flag) (as shown in diagram); Starboard roundings can be used (Green Flag)


The courses for the three events run by the club are:

Championship (scratch start) => Indicative Race Length 45-60 minutes (700 m leg lengths in around 10 knots)
=> Start-Triangle-Sausage-Triangle-Finish

Sprint (scratch start, several races each day after Championship) => Indicative Race Length 15-20 minutes
=> Start-Triangle-Sausage-Finish

Pointscore (handicap start - minutes advantage) => Indicative Race Length 90 minutes (800-900 m leg lengths in around 10 knots)
=> Start-Triangle-Sausage-Triangle-Sausage-Finish
----------------------------------------------------

Course Elements - Port Roundings
Course Elements - Port Roundings

Indicative 60-60-60 Triangle leg lengths for race duration for various wind speeds

Note:
Yellow Marine Park buoys => 1.0 nm apart; 1850 m
Red Hazard Buoys => 0.6 nm apart; 1100 m

Pointscore

Triangle-Sausage-Triangle-Sausage

wind range

5-8 knots

8-12 knots

12-15 Knots

15+ Knots

Leg length for 30 min Race (nm)

0.2

0.3

0.3

0.4

Leg length for 30 min Race (km)

0.4

0.5

0.6

0.6

Leg length for 45 min Race (nm)

0.3

0.3

0.4

0.5

Leg length for 45 min Race (km)

0.5

0.6

0.7

0.9

Leg length for 60 min Race (nm)

0.4

0.5

0.6

0.7

Leg length for 60 min Race (km)

0.7

0.9

1.1

1.3

Leg length for 90 min Race (nm)

0.5

0.6

0.8

1.0

Leg length for 90 min Race (km)

0.9

1.1

1.5

1.9

Leg length for 120 min Race (nm)

0.7

0.9

1.1

1.2

Leg length for 120 min Race (km)

1.3

1.7

2.0

2.2

Championship

Triangle-Sausage-Triangle

wind range

5-8 knots

8-12 knots

12-15 Knots

15+ Knots

Leg length for 30 min Race (nm)

0.3

0.3

0.4

0.5

Leg length for 30 min Race (km)

0.5

0.6

0.7

0.8

Leg length for 45 min Race (nm)

0.4

0.5

0.6

0.7

Leg length for 45 min Race (km)

0.6

0.8

1.2

1.3

Leg length for 60 min Race (nm)

0.5

0.6

0.8

0.9

Leg length for 60 min Race (km)

0.9

1.1

1.5

1.7

Leg length for 90 min Race (nm)

0.7

0.9

1.2

1.4

Leg length for 90 min Race (km)

1.3

1.7

2.4

2.6

Leg length for 120 min Race (nm)

0.9

1.1

1.4

1.6

Leg length for 120 min Race (km)

1.7

2.0

2.6

3.0

Sprints

Triangle + Sausage

wind range

5-8 knots

8-12 knots

12-15 Knots

15+ Knots

Leg length for 30 min Race (nm)

0.4

0.5

0.6

0.6

Leg length for 30 min Race (km)

0.6

0.8

1.0

1.1

Leg length for 45 min Race (nm)

0.6

0.7

0.8

0.8

Leg length for 45 min Race (km)

1.0

1.2

1.4

1.5

Leg length for 60 min Race (nm)

0.7

0.9

1.1

1.2

Leg length for 60 min Race (km)

1.3

1.7

2.0

2.2

Leg length for 90 min Race (nm)

1.1

1.3

1.5

1.6

Leg length for 90 min Race (km)

2.0

2.4

2.8

3.0

Leg length for 120 min Race (nm)

1.4

1.8

2.2

2.4

Leg length for 120 min Race (km)

2.6

3.4

4.0

4.4

Laser Speeds for Upwind, Runs and Reaches under various wind strengths


Laser Radial
Wind Range 5 - 8 Knots 8 - 12 Knots 12 - 15 Knots 15+ Knots
Units Min/Nm Min/km Min/Nm Min/km Min/Nm Min/km Min/Nm Min/km
Upwind Speed 22 11.9 20 10.8 17 9.2 16 8.6
Run Speed 18 9.7 14 7.6 10 5.4 9 4.9
Reach Speed 13 7.0 10 5.4 8 4.3 7 3.8
Laser Full
Wind Range 5 - 8 Knots 8 - 12 Knots 12 - 15 Knots 15+ Knots
Units Min/Nm Min/km Min/Nm Min/km Min/Nm Min/km Min/Nm Min/km
Upwind Speed 20 10.8 19 10.3 16 8.6 15 8.1
Run Speed 17 9.2 12 6.5 10 5.4 9 4.9
Reach Speed 12 6.5 9 4.9 7 3.8 6 3.2

REGATTA - Indicative Leg lengths for race duration under various wind speeds

Amendments to the Pointscore Handicap Systems

Note: For the Pointscore the slower yachts are given several minutes start ahead of the faster yachts ('Catch me if you can'). Ideally all yachts should finish very close together.

The handicaps are adjusted after each race according to the following scheme:
1st place => loss of 2 minutes
2nd place => loss of 1 minute
3rd place => no change - stay as you are
4th place and all other starters (including DNF) => plus 1 minute
All non-starters have no change to their handicaps, except when all the scores need to be adjusted to avoid negatives. For example, when the winner has a Minutes Advantage Handicap of 1 minute and would lose 2 minutes, to a -1 minute handicap for the first place, ALL handicaps are increased by 1 minute so that the winner's new handicap is 0 (zero).
Note: The committee and handicapper will make periodic adjustments to the system to keep it as fair and functional as possible, and to assign handicaps to new members and visitors.
See the latest Minutes Advantage Handicaps as PDF