Program for Jervis Bay Sailing Club

Jump to Courses and Information
Please click  DRAFT CALENDAR/PROGRAM  for a copy of the DRAFT program in PDF.
Note: There are likely to be many changes as events at other clubs are confirmed
For Latest Minutes Advantage Handicaps for Pointscore Races in PDF click  HERE

Jervis Bay Sailing Club 2022-2023 Calendar - VERY EARLY DRAFT!


Please provide comments and suggestions so it can be finalised in July/August

Date Event
Saturday, 4 June 2022 1st Frost Bite Race
Saturday, 2 July 2022 2nd Frostbite; AGM; Presentation
Saturday, 6 August 2022 3rd Frostbite
Saturday, 3 September 2022 Ist Warmup Race
Saturday, 17 September 2022 2nd Warmup Race
Saturday, 24 September 2022 3rd Warmup Race
Saturday, 1 October 2022 October Regatta; Spiral TT1
Sunday, 2 October 2022 October Regatta; Spiral TT1
Saturday, 8 October 2022 Sprints 1; GOF Heat 1 here
Saturday, 15 October 2022 Points 1
Saturday, 22 October 2022 Championship 1
Saturday, 29 October 2022 Points 2
Saturday, 5 November 2022 Sprints 2
Saturday, 12 November 2022 Points 3; ACT Dinghy Championship
Sunday, 13 November 2022 ACT Dinghy Championship
Saturday, 19 November 2022 NSW State Sailboard Championship
Sunday, 20 November 2022 NSW State Sailboard Championship
Saturday, 26 November 2022 Championship 2; Spiral States, Port Kembla
Sunday, 27 November 2022 Spiral States, Port Kembla
Saturday, 3 December 2022 Points 4
Sunday, 4 December 2022 Nowra Marathon, be there!
Saturday, 10 December 2022 Sprints 3
Saturday, 17 December 2022 Points 5
Saturday, 24 December 2022 No Race Christmas
Saturday, 31 December 2022 No Race New Year Day Crowds
Saturday, 7 January 2023 Championship 3
Saturday, 14 January 2023 Points 6
Saturday, 21 January 2023 Sprints 4
Saturday, 28 January 2023 No Race, Aus Day + Spirals Nationals @ Sunshine, Lake Macquarie.
Saturday, 4 February 2023 Points 7
Saturday, 11 February 2023 Championship 4
Saturday, 18 February 2023 Points 8
Saturday, 25 February 2023 Sprints 5
Saturday, 4 March 2023 Points 9
Saturday, 11 March 2023 No Race - Set Aside for Event Hosting or Catch Up Race
Sunday, 12 March 2023 No Race - Set Aside for Event Hosting
Saturday, 18 March 2023 Championship 5
Sunday, 19 March 2023 Alternative Marathon Date @ Nowra
Saturday, 25 March 2023 Points 10
Saturday, 1 April 2023 Sprints 6
Saturday, 8 April 2023 No Race Easter
Saturday, 15 April 2023 Points 11 
Saturday, 22 April 2023 Championship 6
Tuesday, 25 April 2023 ANZAAC Day
Saturday, 29 April 2023 Points 12
Saturday, 6 May 2023 Championship 7
Saturday, 13 May 2023 Points 13
Saturday, 20 May 2023 Catch-up [or Sprints 7]
Saturday, 27 May 2023 Catch-up [or Points 14]
Saturday, 3 June 2023 1st Frostbite Race
Saturday, 1 July 2023 2nd Frostbite
Saturday, 5 August 2023 3rd Frostbite; AGM Presentation
Saturday, 2 September 2023 4th Frostbite
Saturday, 16 September 2023 Ist Warmup Race
Saturday, 23 September 2023 2nd Warmup Race
Saturday, 30 September 2023 October Regatta; Spiral TT1
Sunday, 1 October 2023 October Regatta; Spiral TT1
Monday, 2 October 2023 Labor Day Holiday

------------------------------

Courses and Race Length Information

The Club runs three series throughout the season using various courses (see below):

Common Courses - Olympic Triangle with Port Roundings (Red Flag) (as shown in diagram); Starboard roundings can be used (Green Flag)


The courses for the three events run by the club are:

Championship (scratch start / yardstick) - Aim for two races on each Championship Day, back-to-back => Indicative Race Duration 45 minutes (600 m leg lengths in around 10 knots)
=> Start-Triangle-Sausage-Triangle-Finish

Sprints (scratch start / yardstick) - Aim for 4-6 races each Sprints Day, back-to-back => Indicative Race Duration 20 minutes (500 m leg lengths in around 10 knots)
=> Start-Triangle-Sausage-Finish

Pointscore (handicap start - minutes advantage) => Indicative Race Duration 90 minutes (900 m leg lengths in around 10 knots)
=> Start-Triangle-Sausage-Triangle-Sausage-Finish
----------------------------------------------------

Course Elements - Port Roundings
Course Elements - Port Roundings

Indicative 60-60-60 Triangle leg lengths for race duration for various wind speeds

Note:
Yellow Marine Park buoys => 1380 m apart
Red Hazard Buoys => 800 m apart

Pointscore

Triangle-Sausage-Triangle-Sausage

wind range

5-8 knots

8-12 knots

12-15 Knots

15+ Knots

Leg length for 30 min Race (nm)

0.2

0.3

0.3

0.4

Leg length for 30 min Race (km)

0.4

0.5

0.6

0.6

Leg length for 45 min Race (nm)

0.3

0.3

0.4

0.5

Leg length for 45 min Race (km)

0.5

0.6

0.7

0.9

Leg length for 60 min Race (nm)

0.4

0.5

0.6

0.7

Leg length for 60 min Race (km)

0.7

0.9

1.1

1.3

Leg length for 90 min Race (nm)

0.5

0.6

0.8

1.0

Leg length for 90 min Race (km)

0.9

1.1

1.5

1.9

Leg length for 120 min Race (nm)

0.7

0.9

1.1

1.2

Leg length for 120 min Race (km)

1.3

1.7

2.0

2.2

Championship

Triangle-Sausage-Triangle

wind range

5-8 knots

8-12 knots

12-15 Knots

15+ Knots

Leg length for 30 min Race (nm)

0.3

0.3

0.4

0.5

Leg length for 30 min Race (km)

0.5

0.6

0.7

0.8

Leg length for 45 min Race (nm)

0.4

0.5

0.6

0.7

Leg length for 45 min Race (km)

0.6

0.8

1.2

1.3

Leg length for 60 min Race (nm)

0.5

0.6

0.8

0.9

Leg length for 60 min Race (km)

0.9

1.1

1.5

1.7

Leg length for 90 min Race (nm)

0.7

0.9

1.2

1.4

Leg length for 90 min Race (km)

1.3

1.7

2.4

2.6

Leg length for 120 min Race (nm)

0.9

1.1

1.4

1.6

Leg length for 120 min Race (km)

1.7

2.0

2.6

3.0

Sprints

Triangle + Sausage

wind range

5-8 knots

8-12 knots

12-15 Knots

15+ Knots

Leg length for 30 min Race (nm)

0.4

0.5

0.6

0.6

Leg length for 30 min Race (km)

0.6

0.8

1.0

1.1

Leg length for 45 min Race (nm)

0.6

0.7

0.8

0.8

Leg length for 45 min Race (km)

1.0

1.2

1.4

1.5

Leg length for 60 min Race (nm)

0.7

0.9

1.1

1.2

Leg length for 60 min Race (km)

1.3

1.7

2.0

2.2

Leg length for 90 min Race (nm)

1.1

1.3

1.5

1.6

Leg length for 90 min Race (km)

2.0

2.4

2.8

3.0

Leg length for 120 min Race (nm)

1.4

1.8

2.2

2.4

Leg length for 120 min Race (km)

2.6

3.4

4.0

4.4

Laser Speeds for Upwind, Runs and Reaches under various wind strengths


Laser Radial
Wind Range 5 - 8 Knots 8 - 12 Knots 12 - 15 Knots 15+ Knots
Units Min/Nm Min/km Min/Nm Min/km Min/Nm Min/km Min/Nm Min/km
Upwind Speed 22 11.9 20 10.8 17 9.2 16 8.6
Run Speed 18 9.7 14 7.6 10 5.4 9 4.9
Reach Speed 13 7.0 10 5.4 8 4.3 7 3.8
Laser Full
Wind Range 5 - 8 Knots 8 - 12 Knots 12 - 15 Knots 15+ Knots
Units Min/Nm Min/km Min/Nm Min/km Min/Nm Min/km Min/Nm Min/km
Upwind Speed 20 10.8 19 10.3 16 8.6 15 8.1
Run Speed 17 9.2 12 6.5 10 5.4 9 4.9
Reach Speed 12 6.5 9 4.9 7 3.8 6 3.2

See this link for addition leg length guides for Regattas

REGATTA - Indicative Leg lengths for race duration under various wind speeds

Amendments to the Pointscore Handicap Systems

Note: For the Pointscore the slower yachts are given several minutes start ahead of the faster yachts ('Catch me if you can'). Ideally all yachts should finish very close together.

The handicaps are adjusted after each race according to the following scheme:
1st place => loss of 2 minutes
2nd place => loss of 1 minute
3rd place => no change - stay as you are
4th place and all other starters (including DNF) => plus 1 minute
All non-starters have no change to their handicaps, except when all the scores need to be adjusted to avoid negatives. For example, when the winner has a Minutes Advantage Handicap of 1 minute and would lose 2 minutes, to a -1 minute handicap for the first place, ALL handicaps are increased by 1 minute so that the winner's new handicap is 0 (zero).
Note: The committee and handicapper will make periodic adjustments to the system to keep it as fair and functional as possible, and to assign handicaps to new members and visitors.
See the latest Minutes Advantage Handicaps as PDF

Course Area Distance Guide (see attached map below)

Incidentally => From the Red Point buoy to the top Yellow Marine Park buoy (A1) is NE and 1580 m in length, so setting bottom mark 200 m out from red buoy in that direction and setting the top mark after travelling 800 m towards the A1 Marine Park Buoy gives a great default set up for prevailing NE winds with an ideal leg length of about 800 m.

Note: Leg lengths can be set using the yellow GPS tool, or an app you install on your phone, or the Map Plotter, or by motoring at a constant speed or revs between the two red buoys and noting the time taken for this 800 m distance. Motor for the same time and speed to set the distance between the buoys for your course.

See the Map below for the distances between key markers in the bay


Download the map as a PDF Course Area Distance Guide
Map
Key Marker Lengths in Hare Bay for setting courses

Expected Race Times for Various Yardsticks

The table below shows the winning margin required by yachts faster than a Spiral (bigger yardsticks) for the yachts classes shown so that there is an all class Dead_heat finish on corrected time (after applying yardsticks).
For example, for a Spiral having an elapsed time of 24.8 minutes for a designated 20 minute race => their corrected time would be 20 minutes: 
  • The margin for a Finn would be 2 minutes ahead i.e. finish time 22,8 minutes; corrected time 20 minutes)
  • The margin for an International Canoe would be 6 minutes ahead (i.e. finish time of 18.8 minutes )
  • The margin for an RS Aero 7 (+ Laser Full) would be 2.3 minutes ahead (i.e. finish time of 22.5 minutes )
  • etc.
It also shows wait time between back-to-back races.



20 min race 45 min race 60 min race 90 min race
Class yardstick Winning Margin to dead-heat (mins) Winning Margin to dead-heat (mins) Winning Margin to dead-heat (mins) Winning Margin to dead-heat (mins)
Int Canoe 93.5 6.1 13.7 18.3 27.5
Finn 112.0 2.4 5.4 7.2 10.8
Laser Full 114.0 2.0 4.5 6.0 9.0
Laser Radial 118.5 1.1 2.5 3.3 4.9
RS Aero 7 112.5 2.3 5.2 6.9 10.4
RS Aero 5 116.8 1.4 3.2 4.3 6.5
Spiral 124.0 0.0 0.0 0.0 0.0
Spiral Race Time
24.8 min 55.8 min 74.4 min 111.6 min